Back to RWCMD main site

Woodwind Wins Stoutzker Prize

22 June 2018

Filed Under:


Many congratulations to the winner of this year’s Ian Stoutzker Prize, clarinetist Laura Deignan.

It’s the first time a woodwind player has won this prestigious award which celebrates the College’s outstanding musicians.

“When you get to the end of this stage of your  education you have to make a transition between being someone who is taught how to do it, to being someone who contributes what they do to an audience,” explained Conductor Peter Stark, the Chair of the judging panel. ” In a competition of this stature we are looking for the performance that draws us in, and makes us a part of the world of your music.”

Fellow finalists pianist Nuno Lucas, violinist Charlotte McClure and euphonium player Grant Jameson joined Laura to compete for the £10,000 prize, accompanied by the College’s Chamber Orchestra.

Winner Laura Deignan with Ian Stoutzker

The final took place in the College’s Dora Stoutzker Hall, in front of a panel of judges which included David Purser, Miranda Dale and Cordelia Williams.

Previous winners of the Stoutzker Prize include Michael Lowe, Trystan Llyr Griffiths, Tianhong Yang and Emyr Wyn Jones.

Related Stories

Stoutzker Prize Finalists: In Pictures

Emyr Wins Stoutzker Prize 2016

Singer Michael Wins The Stoutzker Prize

Trystan Wins Stoutzker Prize